2020 Canadian Screen Awards: The Complete List of Nominees

The nominees are in.

Today, the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television announced its list of nominations for 141 different film, television and digital content categories.

2020 saw hit comedy TV series Schitt’s Creek leads the nominees with 26 nods overall, as it gears up for its series finale later this year. CBC’s Anne with an E takes a close second with 17 nominations.

“Whether our nominees are household names or not as well-known, we are privileged to celebrate their achievements at the Canadian Screen Awards,” said CEO Beth Janson. “Supporting these voices has never been more important, and we are proud to be at the heart of those efforts.”

The Canadian Screen Awards Gala will be broadcast live from Toronto on Sunday, March 29.

“What was a moment is now a full-on movement, with Canadians and the content they create finally giving a voice to the vibrant communities they represent,” said Chair of the Canadian Academy John Young. “We are honoured to bring well-deserved attention to these incredible creative works.”

Check out the full list of nominees below!

Best Drama Series

Anne with an E
Mary Kills People

Best Comedy Series

Kim’s Convenience
Schitt’s Creek
Workin’ Moms

Best Lead Actor (Drama Series)

Peter Mooney (Burden of Truth)
Billy Campbell (Cardinal)
Jerry O’Connell (Carter)
Roger Cross (Coroner)
Shawn Doyle (Unspeakable)

Best Lead Actress (Drama Series)

Amybeth McNulty (Anne with An E)
Karine Vanasse (Cardinal)
Serinda Swan (Coroner)
Lauren Lee Smith (Frankie Drake Mysteries)
Caroline Dhavernas (Mary Kills People)

Best Lead Actor (Comedy Series)

Paul Sun-Hyung Lee (Kim’s Convenience)
Jared Keeso (Letterkenny)
Jason Priestley (Private Eyes)
Daniel Levy (Schitt’s Creek)
Eugene Levy (Schitt’s Creek)

Best Lead Actress (Comedy Series)

Jann Arden (Jann)
Jean Yoon (Kim’s Convenience)
Michelle Mylett (Letterkenny)
Annie Murphy (Schitt’s Creek)
Catherine O’Hara (Schitt’s Creek)

Best Motion Picture

Annie at 13,000 ft.
The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open
The Twentieth Century
White Lie

Best Lead Actor (Film)

Gilbert Sicotte (And the Birds Rained Down)
Ryan McDonald (Black Conflux)
Mark O’Brien (Goalie)
Marc-André Grondin (Mafia Inc.)
Dan Beirne (The Twentieth Century)

Best Lead Actress (Film)

Deragh Campbell (Annie at 13,000 ft.)
Nahéma Ricci (Antigone)
Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers (The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open)
Violet Nelson (The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open)
Kacey Rohl (White Lie)

Best Supporting Actor (Film)

Rémy Girard (And the Birds Rained Down)
Matt Johnson (Annie at 13,000 ft.)
Andy McQueen (Disappearance at Clifton Hill)
Daniel Stern (James Vs. His Future Self)
Douglas Grégoire (Kuessipan)

Best Supporting Actress (Film)

Leanna Chea (14 Days, 12 Nights)
Nour Belkhira (Antigone)
Larissa Corriveau (Ghost Town Anthology)
Alison Midstokke (Happy Face)
Yamie Grégoire (Kuessipan)

Best Entertainment News Series

Entertainment Tonight Canada
ETalk Presents: TIFF 2018

Best Feature Length Documentary

Alexandre Le Fou
If You Could Read My Mind
Invisible Essence: The Little Prince
Nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up

Best Reality Series

The Amazing Race Canada
Big Brother Canada
Blown Away
The Great Canadian Baking Show
Top Chef Canada

Best Lifestyle Series

Home to Win
Island of Bryan
Mary’s Kitchen Crush
Property Brothers
Where to I Do?

Best Local Newscast

Home to Win
CBC Ottawa News at 6
CBC Windsor News at 6
City News
Global BC News Hour at 6

Best National Newscast

APTN National News
CBC News: The National
CTV National News with Lisa LaFlamme
Global National

Best National Newscast

Melissa Ridgen, Dennis Ward (APTN National News)
Adrienne Arsenault, Rosemary Barton, Andrew Chang, Ian Hanomansing (CBC News: The National)
Lisa LaFlamme (CTV National News with Lisa LaFlamme)
Dawna Friesen (Global National)

Best Local Reporter

Farrah Merali (CBC Toronto News at 6)
Angela Sterritt (CBC Vancouver News at 6)
Cynthia Mulligan (City News)
Rumina Daya (Global BC News Hour at 6)

Best Lifestyle Host

John Catucci (Big Food Bucket List)
Sangita Patel (Home to Win)
Bryan and Sarah Baeumler (Island of Bryan)
Mary Berg (Mary’s Kitchen Crush)
Drew and Jonathan Silver Scott (Property Brothers: Forever Home)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.